Photography: 365 Project: Week Three

Challenge: Take a picture once a day, every day, for 365 days.
I will be doing this through Instagram and my iPhone4. I’m hoping to publish this into a photo book in a year’s time, which will include haikus that will act as the photo’s commentary.
Wanna do it too? Photojojo has some groovy guidelines you might find inspiring.

015

tue 08.03.11

Day 15

My parents are a horrible influence when it comes to detoxing. Oh well. So much for that.

016

wed 08.04.11

Better yet, this is day 16

When i’m outside smoking, I like to explore a little. My eyes look for anything to study, inspect, store for later drawing reference. I think electric meters look neat.

017

thur 08.05.11

Day 17

I got to spend an evening and morning with my somewhat long distance boyfriend (an hour and a half to three hour commute is pretty rough). I was unaware that there was a series of stupid 3d videos now for Drinking Out of Cups. Somewhere in the recesses of my music collection, i have a song remixed out of that soundbyte. I want to say it’s by Negativland, but the internet seems to have no idea what it is i’m talking about, so uh. Yeah. Also, he’s not naked in that shot. i promise.

018

fri 08.06.11

Day 18

It is recommended that one takes the occasional self portrait for this 365 project. As i don’t actually intend on leaving the house today (i’ve got a ton of projects to catch up on), this will have to do to fill the slot.

019

sat 08.07.11

Day 19

After a stressed out worker, on a sunday, near a mall, at a popular fast food chain, dropped one milk shake and forgot about the second one, my father, who was nic-fitting, repeatedly reminded him of it. The worker was obviously at the end of his rope, and was a little rude in letting him know it was currently under production. My father, who has a conceal and carry permit, threatened vocally to shoot him in his god damned face.

No trivial action is worth that kind of reaction. It’s a milk shake, dad. Please don’t prove the liberals right by threatening to shoot a stressed out food worker in the face over a milk shake. It’s not going to make his day any easier, and i don’t want to spend the next 7 hours convincing the police to let you go. It’s embarrassing to be around you when you get like that.

020

sun 08.08.11

Day 20. My pencil sharpener.

A couple of weeks ago, when we stopped in Breezewood, PA on the way back from the Rothermel Family Reunion, we found a truck stop that sold little Gettysburg themed pencil sharpeners. Once you got past the Civil War stuff, they had the Revolutionary War, the Williamsburg stuff, and then damn near every basic military vehicle you could dream up. Each pencil sharpener had a piece that could move. My mother got a ship whose tall sails moved independently, but this tank with it’s swiveling gun won my heart, and it was the last one.

It was meant to be.

Also, the post card acting as my backdrop is by Cherry Vega.

021

mon 08.09.11

Day 21

At the bank with my mother as we wire money to my sister so she can make it to my namesake’s funeral in a couple weeks.

You can check out the other weeks too:
Week One

Week Two
Week Four

Leave a comment