Photography: 365 Project: Week Seventeen

Challenge: Take a picture once a day, every day, for 365 days. I will be doing this through Instagram and my iPhone4. I’m hoping to publish this into a photo book in a year’s time, which will include haikus that will act as the photo’s commentary. Wanna do it too? Photojojo has some groovy guidelines you might find inspiring.

112

(mon 11.07.11)

112: window washing is dangerous work.

Window Washers in DC are serious athletes. It is dangerous business. I don’t even want to dream what it’d be like in cities where they don’t have the Washington Monument height cap on the surrounding buildings.

113

(tues 11.08.11)

113: went and voted at the middle school I attended. My how things have changed, and my how they've stayed the same.

I went into work late so that i could go and vote. I won’t get into specifics on my political affiliations, but i’ll just say that my vote didn’t seem to account for shit. The school at which i was zoned to vote at was the school i went to as a girl. It’s changed so much, and yet stayed very much the same. The walk home was a much bigger pain in the ass with that new baseball fence.

114

(wed 11.09.11)

114: hope in silent hill.

I called this “Hope in Silent Hill” on my Instagram. Fog and light interact so beautifully together.

115

(thur 11.10.11)

115: frogs dance in fog

A neighbor of mine has a rather eclectic and yet well thought out front yard. I was amused by this frog drummer. i don’t know how many years he’d stood at their front porch, but he was new to me.

116

(fri 11.11.11)

116

Coming from a military family, we tend to take Veteran’s day and Memorial day quite seriously. A friend of mine, who happened to be an Airborne Ranger, drove about 2 hours to come have dinner with me and chill out and generally celebrate both having been in the Army and not being in the Army anymore.

We went to my favorite Indian restaurant, the only place that serves Kingfisher around me,  and delicious, delicious Indian food. Mmmmmmshrimpkormammmmmmm.

117

(sat 11.12.11)

117

Sometimes i really dig going to craft stores that have an ENORMOUS fake flower section. Sometimes, i find flowers that are way out of season, and i make art out of them, one way or another.

118

( sun 11.13.11)

118: shooting a metal video on a Sunday morning. Behold: the feast.

My pals A Sound of Thunder have recently released their single Kill That Bitch. We teamed up Duy Tran to shoot a video for it. They tend to take me with them on long road trips to far away gigs, so i thought i would gift them with the feast of a thousand overworked metalheads. Yeungling light and a shit ton of tacos. It’s amazing how much you can get for 80 bucks.  Thanks for awesome times, guys. Oh yeah, i took real pictures too….. 

You can check out some other weeks too:
Week One

Week Sixteen

Week Eighteen

Leave a Reply

