Photography: 365 Project: Week Twenty

Challenge: Take a picture once a day, every day, for 365 days. I will be doing this through Instagram and my iPhone4. I’m hoping to publish this into a photo book in a year’s time, which will include haikus that will act as the photo’s commentary. Wanna do it too? Photojojo has some groovy guidelines you might find inspiring.

133

(mon 11.28.11)

133: someone had a birthday at work, and the baking challenge was Starry Night.

So the woman i’ve been temping for takes baking challenges as a hobby. There was a recent birthday, and the birthday girl challenged her to create a Vincent Van Gogh cake. This was a result.

Pretty damn good for a hobbyist, i must say. Also, it was delicious.

134

(tues 11.29.11)

134.2: beef ho fun and iced oolong.

I call the Hong Kong Pearl in 7 corners “the third in the triumvirate”. There are now three amazing Chinese Dimsum places at 7 Corners: Mark’s Duck House, Fortune, and now Hong Kong Pearl. It was damn good eatin’.

135

(wed 11.30.11)

135.2 : conversation is dead.

They’re in Bobby Flay’s Burger Palace in Foggy Bottom, and they are silently staring at their phones. Conversation is dead.

136

(thur 12.01.11)

136: circa with awesome company.

I had a date with a Web Art Director in DC. The upside, he’s cute (a mutt much like me), and smart, and tall, and in the same industry as me (makes for STELLAR collaborations). The downside, he said, “You know, if i wasn’t trying to date you, i’d give you a job.” RERRRRRGGGHH.

We went to the new Circa that opened up in Foggy Bottom. I was familiar with the one in Clarendon (as i did go to school near there), and i remember it being a ritzy wine bar type place. So we meet there, and the queue was super long. The heaters at the outside bar were a nice touch, considering it was freaking freezing. They knew nothing about white wines, especially german wine. Their Riesling was terrible as far as rieslings go. It’s a sad day when I’m drinking Yeungling over spaetlese. The food was good though, as was the service (i swear, the entire staff apologized for us getting passed over in the queue), and certainly the company. :3

137

(fri 12.02.11)

137: self portrait cop out.

I was supposed to go on a date with my pal Neener to Georgetown, but she dipped out on me over missing packages (a valid concern), so i didn’t have anything interesting to photograph. So instead, i took a self portrait when i was in bed, in shitty light. Some of my photography apps got an update, but i would say it wasn’t for the better. As popular as this picture seems to be, the resolution kills me. What makes me more mad is that this is after saving at High Def. Grumble.

138

(sat 12.03.11)

138.2 : a day at the office.

Another show, this time in Leesburg. This is what i’m usually hauling around with me at shows. 2 cameras, one wide angle for upclose and one telephoto for when i’m stuck on the other side of the bar. I call one the “rockstar lens” and the other my “stalker lens”. I can’t tell if it’s better to have two cameras at events like this, or to just go back to switching lenses, which i’d gotten pretty damn good at.

Also, i usually have a yeungling or two. What’s to say i can’t relax when working my ass off?

That’s a speedlite flash that i borrowed from my pal Stein. It’s determined that i need to buy one.

139

( sun 12.04.11)

139.1: the Baptism of Gabriel Luke Crawford.

So my best friend from high school (not so much anymore), and my ex boyfriend from highschool are now married, and had a boy that they named after a dear friend of ours that passed away in 2005 or 2006. As i am still good friends of all parties involved, i felt obligated to go to Gabriel Luke’s baptism, despite my aversion to churches. Of course, i had no idea what this actually involved, so i felt rather out of place.

You can check out some other weeks too:
Week One

Week Nineteen
Week Twenty One

Leave a Reply

