Photography: 365 Project: Week Twenty Three

Challenge: Take a picture once a day, every day, for 365 days. I will be doing this through Instagram and my iPhone4. I’m hoping to publish this into a photo book in a year’s time, which will include haikus that will act as the photo’s commentary. Wanna do it too? Photojojo has some groovy guidelines you might find inspiring.

Oh yikes. I’m damn near a month behind on the blog posts for this project, but at least i’m keeping up on the actual picture things. The holidays and some new projects and some convention stuff and a new man in my life has me quite distracted, but i shall catch up for reals. The little diary-like summaries for each photo takes a little more time than i was expecting.

154

(mon 12.19.11)

154: tasty pears

We were gifted a crate of supposedly wicked awesome pears at a meeting at work. I didn’t have any, as i’m not a huge fan of the texture of fresh pears, but i could appreciate the how they were packaged and the colors involved.

155

(tues 12.20.11)

155: fuck shit cunt

Parallel parking mishap. No damage to the other vehicle. I was so tired and so frustrated that a note + tears seemed to be enough.

156

(wed 12.21.11)

156: lucy's has pool leagues

I thought a clean pool hall with level pool tables and people who played pool that weren’t skeevy biker drug dealers were imaginary elements left for family-friendly sitcoms and surreal novels. However’s a joint in Shirlington called Lucy’s ARL happens to host pool tournaments. Who’da thunk?

157

(thur 12.22.11)

157: my two favorite crimes cards this year!

My two favorite Christmas cards this year: one from my friend Bekki Rasmussan, and one from an old anime convention pal that goes by Shadra. I helped her to design that character of hers on the card there,  and she’s been forever grateful since. :3 It’s nice to see a character take on a life of its own like that, and the idea that i had a hand in that reminds me that my brain is completely defunct.

158

(fri 12.23.11)

158: dinner with dad

My father and i had a long, messed up day at work, so we went to unwind at Uncle Julio’s with some mexican seafood and booze.

159

(sat 12.24.11)

159: Xmas eve Sako. :D

I was thick in Christmas spirit, and discovered that i could wrap my braids around my neck comfortably a couple of times. I was compared to a Twi’Lek styling her Lekku. Some days, i just feel like being pretty for no reason whatsoever.

160

( sun 12.25.11)

160.2: German squirrel. Shades of my childhood.

When we lived in Germany, when i was a young girl, my mother had a woodland theme with our Christmas trees. Yeah, i was raised buddhist, but some of my mother’s old Lutherin rituals were still practiced in our family, such as Advent Calendars, St. Nicholas Day and Woodland-themed Christmas trees. Pier One this year had the wooden mushrooms and even some straw squirrels, similar to those we had when i was a little. Now if we could just keep the cats from beheading the wooden ducks….

You can check out some other weeks too:
Week One

Week Twenty Two
Week Twenty Four

Leave a Reply

